top of page

Collins Family



My Family:

I am a high school English teacher, going into my 20th year, in the Rochester City School District. I am a single parent; my daughter is 16, my son is 1. My former foster children, who lived with me for about 4 years, are 5 and 6 and spend a lot of time at my house.

My Desire to Adopt:

Special needs kids are my life! I have worked with all kinds of special needs kids over the last 20 years as a teacher in a high needs district, and my own children have special needs. God has made these children and they are precious. Many special needs kids struggle to find a home, and I am happy to take them.

My Faith in Christ:

I grew up in a Christian home, went to church 3x a week, went to Christian school for 13 years. In my 20s, I didn’t prioritize my faith, but over the last ten years, Jesus has become such an integral and important aspect of my life. I love bringing my family to church, being involved in church activities, and teaching my babies about the Lord. Jesus has blessed me in unimaginable ways, in ways I do not deserve, and I am filled with gratitude every day for his love and mercy.

Dear Birth Mom/Parents

I am Sarah, a 41 year old mom of 2 biological children, ages 16 and 1.
I’ve been teaching in a high needs city school district for 20 years, and have worked with a variety of special needs, cultures, and economic groups, and wouldn’t trade my job for anything! I teach high school English.

I have been a foster mom for the last 6 years, and spent most of that time being a mom to two beautiful babies with severe Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. Although I did not adopt them, they continue to spend a great deal of time with me in my home, and I attend every event, meeting, and appointment that they have!

My oldest daughter has Aspergers Syndrome, and this, along with my experience with FAS and special needs kids at my school, has prepared me to be a strong advocate, a fierce fighter, and an unconditional support for my children.
I love being at home with my kids, and finding activities for us to do as a family. I have a large network of supportive friends, colleagues and family who I can always depend on. Children with challenges are my life!

I live in a 5 bedroom home on a quiet street in the suburbs. We have an in ground pool, tree swing, and lots of room to ride bikes and play outside. There are all kinds of splash parks, playgrounds, museums, libraries, and more in the town I live in.

We attend an awesome church that is incredibly inclusive and supportive, and who loves my children and works hard to make them feel welcome and always accepted.

I hope to hear from you, and appreciate you taking the time to view my profile!

bottom of page